Sylacauga, AL

As a land surveying company offering services to the City of Sylacauga, Talladega County, Alabama area, Maxwell Land Surveying, through its Talladega Land Surveying website, would like to provide some information about the cities that we serve.

This information is provided as a service to you and was current at the time of publication. Please let us know if there are necessary changes. We look forward to working with you.

City of Sylacauga, Talladega County, Alabama

Sylacauga Land SurveyorSylacauga Land Surveyor

 

 

 

 

 

City of Sylacauga Information:

City Hall Location:

301 North Broadway Avenue – Map Link

Sylacauga, AL 3515

Phone: (256) 249-4353 ‎

 

Mayor:  Sam H. Wright | swright@sylacaugaal.gov

Sylacauga AL Land Surveyor

City Council:

James Heigl | District 1

Manuell Smith, III | District 2

Mr. Kenneth E. Horn | District 3

Walter Jacobson | District 4

Mr. Doug Murphree | District 5

 

City Council Meetings are held the first Wednesday of every month at 9:00 A.M. and the third Tuesday of every month at 6:00 P.M.

Departments:

Mayors Administrative Assistant | Denise Mitchell   | dmitchell@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 401-2424

City Clerk – Treasurer | Patricia Carden | tcarden@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 401-2405

Clerks Administrative Assistant | Kim Martin | kmartin@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 401-2404

Business License | Sheila Bridges | sbridges@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 401-2409

Accounting Manager | Karen Beane  | kbeane@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 401-2403

Purchasing | Patricia Carden | tcarden@sylacaugaal.gov  | (256) 401-2405

Human Resources | Nora Sherbert | nsherbert@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 401-2402

City Council Information | Patricia Carden    | tcarden@sylacaugaal.gov  | (256) 401-2405

City Attorney | Win Livingston | (256) 245-6313

Code Enforcement Director | Eddie Bentley | (256) 401-2428

Code Inspections | Wayne Sayers | wsayers@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 401-2427

Utilities Inspections | John Gladness  | jgladness@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 401-2426

Nuisance Abatement | jgladness@sylacaugaal.gov | John Gladness | (256) 401-2426

Code Enforcement & Planning | Administrative Secretary   | Shannon Plexico | splexico@sylacaugaal.gov  | (256) 401-2425

Planning & Zoning | Tom Rumsey | trumsey@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 401-2430

Acting Police Chief | Chris Carden | ccarden@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 401-2458

Fire Chief | Matt Missildine | mmissildine@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 249-6204

Fire Inspector | Joe Hassell | jhassell@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 401-2469

Municipal Court | Ken Sisk | ksisk@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 401-2521

Street Department & Recycling | Tommy Woolley | twoolley@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 249-6250

Shop – Vehicle Maintenance | Ed Ford | eford@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 249-6254

Emergency Management | Tommy Woolley | twoolley@sylacaugaal.gov | (256) 249-6250

Sylacauga Airport (Lee Merkle Airport) | Ray Lett | (256) 245-3246 or (256) 245-2115

Senior Citizens Service & Transportation | Nancy Dickson or Margaret Morton     | (256) 249-9085

Library | Shirley Spears | sspears@sylacauga.net | (256) 249-0961

Parks & Recreation | Jim Armstrong | jarmstrong@mysylacauga.com  | (256) 249-8561

 

Sylacauga AL Land SurveyorMaps:

Talladega County, AL GIS Map (Tax Parcels Information)

FEMA Flood Maps

Flood Map Revision Status – Updated flood maps to become effective November 26, 2012.

 

Local Schools:

Indian Valley Elementary School

Nichols-Lawson Middle School

Pinecrest Elementary School

Sylacauga High School

 

Community Links:

Sylacauga City Chamber of Commerce

Talladega County Economic Development Authority

 

History:

Sylacauga is slightly located to the east of the geographical center of the State of Alabama in Talladega County.  The name Sy-la-cau-ga is made up of two Indian words “Chalaka-ge” which means, “The place of the Chalaka Tribe”.

Its first settlers were the Creek Indian. The city was first incorporated in 1838 as Syllacoga and again in 1887 as Sylacauga. The “The Marble City,” as Sylacauga’s been known for, is constructed on a solid deposit of the hardest, whitest marble in the world.

In fact, some of the most beautiful buildings in the country, such as the United States Supreme Court, the Al Jolson Shrine in California, the Woolworth building in Houston, Texas and many others have been constructed and ornamented with Sylacauga marble.

At the 2010 U.S. Census, approximately 12,749 people are in Sylacauga.

 

Local Business Links:

Blue Bell Creameries – one of the best-selling ice creams in the country

Sylacauga Parks and Recreation – full-time recreation department for the City of Sylacauga

Buttermilk Hill Restaurants – situated within an old Victorian Frame Home built in 1904 where you can enjoy Gourmet Southern food

www.TalladegaLandSurveying.com – provides Land Surveying and Civil Engineering to City of Alexander City & the Tallapoosa County area

Pro17 Engineering, LLC – providing Civil Engineering and Land Surveying to the City of Tuskegee, Alabama & the Macon County area

 

Sources: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sylacauga, Alabama, http://www.sylacauga.net/, and http://2010.census.gov